Type to search

UP to vote in 7 phases, Manipur in 2, single phase in other states; results on March 10 » Bhajpa Ki Baat

Press Conference

UP to vote in 7 phases, Manipur in 2, single phase in other states; results on March 10 » Bhajpa Ki Baat

UP to vote in 7 phases, Manipur in 2, single phase in other states; results on March 10 » Kamal Sandesh

      The Election Commission of India announced the poll schedule for assembly elections in Goa, Punjab, Manipur, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh on 08 January, 2022. As per the announcements, Polling for 403 Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh would be held over seven phases on February 10, February 14, February 20, February 23, February 27, March 3 and March 7.

Punjab, Goa and Uttarakhand will all vote on a single day, February 14. Elections in Manipur will be spread over two phases on February 27 and March 3.
Counting for all 690 constituencies across five States, where a total of 18.34 crore citizens are eligible to vote, would be carried out on March 10.

No roadshows, padyatras, cycle or bike rallies, vehicle rallies and processions as well as physical rallies would be allowed till January 15 in view of the Omicron threat. The EC would review the situation on January 15 and take a call on allowing physical campaigning after that.

The Election Commission said the district magistrate and the State’s chief secretary, along with EC officers, would monitor the implementation of the COVID guidelines. Candidates would also have to submit an affidavit that they will adhere to the guidelines. Victory processions will also be banned.


In a Press statement BJP National President Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda welcomed the announcements of the Election Commission of India.

He said, “I welcome the Election Commission of India’s announcement of the assembly election dates for the five States – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur. I appeal to all the Bharatiya Janata Party workers to strictly follow all the guidelines announced by the Election Commission of India related to Covid -19 and all the other important instructions”.

“I also appeal and urge the Bharatiya Janata Party workers to participate with full enthusiasm and vigour in this important festival of our democracy”.

He said, “I am fully confident that in these assembly elections in the five States the Bharatiya Janata Party will once again win the trust and confidence of the electorate under the leadership of Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi Ji. The Bharatiya Janata Party will again win the assembly elections with a massive majority in all the five States. Our Governments will take these states to newer heights of growth, development, progress and prosperity”.

(News Source -Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by Bhajpa Ki Baat staff and is published from a Bhajpa Ki Baat feed.)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *