Press Conference

In a sweeping victory, BJP wins all 17 mayoral seats in UP » Bhajpa Ki Baat

In a sweeping victory, BJP wins all 17 mayoral seats in UP » Kamal Sandesh

UP local body poll results- 2023

Secures most of Nagar Palika Parishads and Nagar Panchayats

The Bharatiya Janata Party once again swept the Uttar Pradesh local body polls as it won all 17 Mayor seats, and 813 Corporator seats out of total 1420 seats. The BJP also got a thrashing victory in Nagar Panchayat and Nagar Palika Parishad polls for which the results were declared on 13 May, 2023. With this victory, the BJP has drastically improved its performance in comparison with 2017 when it won 14 Mayor seats, 596 Corporators in the Municipal Corporations, 923 Nagar Palika members and 664 Nagar Panchayat members. The Samajwadi Party retained its place as the second-largest party, while the BSP finished third.

Hailing the party’s performance UP CM Yogi Adityanath said the people have given a mandate to the “good governance, development and fear-free environment” in the state under the leadership and guidance of PM Shri Narendra Modi. He said BJP has won more seats in all local body elections as compared to 2017.

As per the data, from Agra Municipal Corporation – Smt. Hemalata Diwakar, Aligarh- Shri Prashant Singhal, Ayodhya- Shri Girishpati Tripathi, Bareilly – Shri Umesh Gautam, Firozabad – Smt. Kamini Rathore, Ghaziabad- Smt. Sunita Dayal, Gorakhpur- Dr. Manglesh Srivastava, Jhansi Shri Bihari Lal Arya, Kanpur-Smt. Pramila Pandey, Lucknow- Smt. Sushma Kharkwal, Meerut- Shri Harikant Ahluwalia, Moradabad- Shri Vinod Agrawal, Prayagraj-Shri Ganesh Kesarwani, Saharanpur-Dr. Ajay Kumar Singh, Shahjahanpur- Smt. Archana Verma, Varanasi- Shri Ashok Tiwari, Mathura–Vrindavan- Shri Vinod Agarwal won as Mayors. Out of 17 BJP Mayors, three have been elected for the second time in a row.

Among other local bodies, the BJP won 89 seats of chairpersons in Nagar Palika Parishad with 1360 ward members, and 191 seats of chairpersons in Nagar Panchayats with 1403 ward members.

After the victory, UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath with his Cabinet colleagues joined the BJP’s celebrations at the party state headquarters in Lucknow, where they exchanged bouquets and distributed sweets. In his address, Yogi Adityanath attributed the win to the “hard work of BJP workers and good coordination between the party and the government.” He added that the people have given mandate to “good governance, development and security” that was created by the double engine government under the guidance of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi.

So far as the opposition parties are concerned, the BSP, which won two mayor seats (Meerut and Aligarh) in 2017, could not win even a single mayor seat this time. The party won only 85 seats of corporators in Nagar Nigams, 16 seats of chairpersons and 191 members in Nagar Palika Parishads.

The Samajwadi Party also drew a blank in the mayoral elections, as it had done in 2017 too. The party had won 191 seats of corporators in municipal corporations, 35 seats of chairpersons and 425 members in Nagar Palika parishads. In Nagar Panchayats, the party won 79 seats of chairpersons and 485 members.
The Congress won only 77 seats of Municipal Corporators in Nagar Nigams, four seats of Nagar Palika chairperson with 91 members and 14 seats of Nagar Panchayat chairpersons with 77 members.

‘Support of people for unprecedented development works’

Congratulating UP BJP for the sweeping victory, Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi said, “Many congratulations to all the workers and candidates of @BJP4UP for this grand victory in the civic elections. This success, reveals the massive support of people for the unprecedented development works taking place in the state under the leadership of CM @myogiadityanath ji”.

‘Victory of the people’s faith’

BJP National President Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda said, “Hearty congratulations to Chief Minister Shri @myogiadityanath ji, Shri @Bhupendraupbjp ji and all the Karyakartas of @BJP4UP for BJP’s resounding victory in Uttar Pradesh civic elections. This victory is the victory of the people’s faith in the inclusive and welfare policies being implemented in the state under the guidance of Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri @narendramodi ji”.

(News Source -Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by Bhajpa Ki Baat staff and is published from a Bhajpa Ki Baat feed.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *